The TBR Tag

Since my reading life consists mostly of (physical and virtual) piles of books I haven’t read yet, here’s a tag that deals with just that!

(BTW this fun tag was created a while ago by Rachel from A Perfection Called Books and Dana from Dana Square)

How do you keep track of your TBR pile?

I mostly keep track on Goodreads, since it helps me stay pretty organized. And I’m all about virtual organization, even when my real-life organization leaves a lot to be desired.

Is your TBR mostly print or e-book?

My TBR is mostly print, but I do have a couple dozen e-books sitting on my kindle. During my phases of using the libary a lot, I usually check out only e-books, since my alternative is having a stack of physical books racking up late fees once I’ve forgotten that they exist. But, in terms of books I personally own, the majority of them are physical books.

A book that’s been on your TBR list the longest?

imgresWell, apparently the first book I added to my Goodreads TBR list was The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath, a classic that I think I would fall in love with based on all the quotes I’ve read by Plath. But I do have other books that have been sitting on my actual shelves for much longer.imgres-1

For instance, Breaking Dawn by Stephanie Meyer has been sitting unread on my shelf since high school. As I’ve said in previous posts, I have a weird problem finishing series (or things in general) so this is another sequel that I’ve never read. (I actually never read the last couple chapters of Eclipse either but shhhhh.)

A book you recently added to your TBRimgres-2

One of the most recent books I’ve added on Goodreads was Scrappy Little Nobody by Anna Kendrick because she is a delightful human and I need to read more non-fiction, and also memoirs/autobiographies, so this is perfect.

A book on your TBR strictly because of its beautiful cover

imgres-3So, beautiful/interesting covers definitely catch my eye and make me more likely to look into their summaries. For instance, I recently read Tell the Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt primarily due to its beautiful cover. Look at it. I mean, come on. (And the story was just as beautiful as its cover. Maybe I’ll write a review at some point.)

imgres-4But as for a book I still haven’t read… Let’s see, I’ll go with The Golem and the Jinni by Helene Wecker. I know very little about this book, but I find the cover very intriguing. I’d say I typically judge more adult novels by their covers, since I don’t hear nearly as much about them compared to young adult books.

A book on your TBR that you never plan on reading

Harry-Potter-and-the-Cursed-Child-poster.jpgOK, gah, well, I might have to say Harry Potter and the Cursed Child… I’m not completely ruling out reading it, but right now I honestly have no desire to. As a huge HP fan, I’m worried by the things I’ve heard from people who have read it. I don’t want the story, which is not even written by JK Rowling, to change the way I feel about the characters I grew up with. Idk. If anyone has any strong feelings about it either way, I’d love to hear them!

An unpublished book on your TBR that you’re excited for

Vengeful by V. E. Schwab AKA the sequel to Vicious!! As far as I can tell, this has zero info as to the plot or release date, but I’m very pumped for it! Vicious held the #2 spot on my 2015 favorite books! I’m not usually one of those people to read new books right when they’re released, but I predict that this will be an exception. ALSO, whenever John Green publishes another book, which will hopefully happen eventually, I will be all over that.

A book on your TBR that basically everyone’s read but you

I’m gonna have to go with all the books from The Mortal Instruments series or The Infernal Devices series, both by Cassandra Clare.

picture11.png

infernal-devices-covers1.pngPretty much everyone I know has read one or more books from these series, and then here I am having read zero. I’m not really itching to start (even though I watch and enjoy the Shadowhunters TV series), but The Infernal Devices sound more interesting to me. I don’t know. I’d appreciate any thoughts about these series in particular and on whether they’re worth reading.

A book on your TBR that everyone recommends to you

mistborn-cover.jpgSo, I don’t have a book that I’m recommended all the time, but I definitely have had several people encourage me to read The Mistborn Trilogy, a high fantasy series by Brandon Sanderson. And I own them in e-book and physical copies. So I don’t know what’s stopping me…517mlmz7z2l-_sx323_bo1204203200_

I’ve also been told to read the Sandman graphic novel series by Neil Gaiman a handful of times when I tell people I’m into graphic novels, so this really needs to happen. Especially since I own the first one. So yeah, I’ll start it eventually…

A book on your TBR that you’re dying to read

urlI don’t know that I’m “dying to read” this, but I know I really need to read Getting There: A Book of Memoirs by Gillian Zoe Segal. It’s a collection of memoirs by semi-famous, successful people about how they got to where they are now. My counselor recommended it to me, so I’m planning to start reading it very soon.

How many books are on your Goodreads TBR shelf?

There are 625 books on my TBR shelf. I consistently add and periodically remove books, so this is pretty much ever-changing. But, yeah, a lot of books sound interesting to me. We’ll see how many I get to!


I know this tag has been going around for a long time, but feel free to do it if you haven’t already! I had a lot of fun with it. 🙂 Let me know if you have any thoughts on the books I mentioned or some books on your TBR that you’ve been putting off!

Thanks for reading!

xx bits of prose and whimsy

Leave a Reply

