Halloween Book Tag

I love this time of year, so I’m doing this Halloween-themed book tag that I’ve seen all over the place! Once again, I don’t actually follow the rules of tagging or being tagged, but consider yourself tagged if you’re reading this!

halloween-05

CARVING PUMPKINS: What book would you carve up and light on fire?

It’s not likely that I would actually destroy a book, but I’ll choose one I really didn’t like: Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen. This is the first Sarah Dessen book I’ve read and probably my last. I found literally nothing remarkable about this contemporary story. Kind of pointless.

TRICK OR TREAT: What character is a trick? What character is a treat?

Trick: Amy Dunne from Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. She’s the definition of tricky.

Treat: Alexia Tarabotti from the Parasol Protectorate series by Gail Carriger. She’s always a delight to read about. Spunky, smart, and confident.

CANDY CORN: What’s a book that’s always sweet?

Attachments by Rainbow Rowell. This ’90s rom-com style novel is the definition of sweet and a great pick-me-up. A cute love story with endearing characters.

GHOST: What character would you love to visit you as a ghost?

Albus Dumbledore! I’d love for him to visit and give me some words of wisdom. And, let’s be honest, he’s just dang cool.

DRESSING UP IN COSTUME: What character would you want to be for a day?

I’ll go with Luna Lovegood from Harry Potter. I would have magical abilities, attend Hogwarts, be friends with the Golden Trio plus Ginny, and could act as weird as I wanted without raising any eyebrows. Sounds like a fun day to me!

WIZARDS AND WITCHES: What is your favorite Harry Potter moment?

It’s impossible for me to choose a favorite… I’ve always loved the beginning of Order of the Phoenix when Harry meets members of the Order and is whisked away to 12 Grimmauld Place. So I’ll just go with that.

BLOOD AND GORE: What book was so creepy you had to take a break from it?

One of the creepiest/most disturbing things I’ve read is the Locke & Key series by Joe Hill. It’s a fantastic series of graphic novels about an old mansion with a set of mysterious keys. I never had to take a break from it, but there were plenty of creepy moments.


Thanks for reading & Happy Halloween!

xx bits of prose and whimsy

2 thoughts on “Halloween Book Tag

Leave a Reply

