The Coffee Book Tag

Tags are fun and I haven’t done one in what seems like forever. I wasn’t tagged but that isn’t gonna stop me. So here’s a tag that combines two things I can’t live without: COFFEE and BOOKS. Da best combo. (I saw this tag on what’s she reading?‘s blog, which is awesome.) Heeeere we go!

BLACK: A series that’s tough to get into but has hardcore fans.

Firstly, I’m gonna say the Mistborn trilogy by Brandon Sanderson. I definitely plan to read the books at some point, as I own them in both physical and e-book form, but for some reason the whole high fantasy genre intimidates me. Speaking of high fantasy, the A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin, the first of which is A Game of Thrones, is so intimidating that I’m not sure I’ll ever read it. I honestly don’t know if I can get into something that has that many pages and that many characters. I’d need someone to provide a really persuasive argument for me to start it!

PEPPERMINT MOCHA: A book that gets more popular during the winter or a festive time of year.

So this isn’t a particular book, but anything in the horror genre, or any kind of monster books, are way more popular right around Halloween. I’m much more tempted to pick up something scary or spooky in October than any other time of year. I also associate mysteries with colder weather, but maybe that’s just me.

HOT CHOCOLATE: Favorite children’s book.

The obvious answer is Harry Potterbut to be a bit more creative… I’d say Black and Blue Magic by Zilpha Keatley Snyder. I have fond memories of my mom reading this book aloud to me when I was very young. I think about it from time to time, and I’d really like to pick it up again for a reread.

DOUBLE SHOT OF ESPRESSO: A book that kept you on the edge of your seat from start to finish.

The first that comes to mind is Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff, which I read just last month. I loved the heck out of this book, which is impressive because science fiction isn’t a genre I’m typically drawn to, especially books set entirely in space. I simply couldn’t put it down because I just had to know how things wrapped up, and the book’s unique format allowed me to fly right through it!

STARBUCKS: A book you see everywhere.

I’m gonna go with The Lunar Chronicles series by Marissa Meyer, which includes Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, Winter, and a couple of novella collections. It seems like everyone is getting into this series, which I totally don’t mind since I’ve read the first two and enjoyed them a lot. I even got my sister into them and she’s now ahead of me! Typical.

THAT HIPSTER COFFEE SHOP: A book by an indie author (a shoutout).

I honestly haven’t read that many books by indie authors, which is a shame. One that comes to mind, though, is the Penryn & the End of Days series by Susan Ee. I’ve read the first book Angelfall, and it was on my favorites list for 2014! I highly recommend starting it, and I’ve heard the other two are great as well.

OOPS! I ACCIDENTALLY GOT DECAF: A book you were expecting more from.

Children’s classics like The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum and Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll have let me down quite a bit. I was expecting to enjoy them about as much as their film adaptations, but they just weren’t very enjoyable. I might give Alice another try at some point, though. Maybe.

THE PERFECT BLEND: A book or series that was both bitter and sweet, but ultimately satisfying.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky has a perfect balance of bitter and sweet, with plenty of sad and happy moments to bring you right back to your high school days. It’s one of my all-time favorites. Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell also strikes a perfect balance. It’s touching and heartbreaking and sweet all at once.

GREEN TEA: A book or series that is quietly beautiful.

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman certainly comes to mind. It has an ethereal, dream-like quality to it. Nothing overly dramatic or suspenseful, but still compelling and beautiful. Oh, Gaiman, you are fantastic.

CHAI TEA: A book or series that makes you dream of far off places.

I found it a bit difficult to think of an answer for this one, since so many of the books I read are set in the US… but I’d say The Thief Lord by Cornelia Funke fits the bill. The story is set in Venice and really captures the unique qualities of the ancient city. It’s basically impossible not to picture yourself roaming the streets of Venice right alongside the characters.

EARL GREY: A favorite classic.

I love everything by Jane Austen. After taking an Austen literature/film class in college, I gained an intense appreciation for her work because of my professor’s love for all things Austen. I also remember really enjoying The House of Mirth by Edith Wharton back in high school.

Thanks for reading! If you love coffee and books, you should totally do this tag–it’s fun!

2 thoughts on “The Coffee Book Tag

  1. I just finished reading Alice and Wonderland and can so relate. A delightful story but I wasn’t really into it the way I was in the films.

    Like

Leave a Reply

