Oh, hello! A look back at 2015.

So, my whole blog-more-in-2015 goal didn’t happen at all… (unless you count my tumblr, which we won’t.) I’ll definitely be blogging more consistently in the months to come!

A huge part of my year was figuring out what my post-grad life was going to look like. It’s a major shift after graduating college and getting out into the work force. I was intimidated and confused about what exactly to do. Finding jobs and working inevitably became a major part of my personal growth.

A few months into the year, I got a retail job at the mall. This experience taught me a few things:

  1. People can be wonderful, coworkers and customers alike.
  2. Management can be really, really terrible and make everyone hate coming to work.
  3. Retail is exhausting, especially for introverts. But it does get easier!
  4. Liking who you work with is super duper important.
  5. Being overqualified for a job will eventually become frustrating.
  6. It’s pretty awesome to meet and make friends with people you never would have met otherwise.
  7. Some customers will be rude no matter what you do. Just be as friendly as necessary, then vent to your coworkers and laugh off the experience.

In August, I quit my retail job and began working for an early literacy program in elementary schools. It definitely has its ups and downs, but at least it feels rewarding the majority of the time. I’ve learned a lot from this job as well:

  1. There are a lot of kind people out there who will brighten your day.
  2. Listening and talking through people’s concerns is really important.
  3. Helping kids learn to read can sometimes be frustrating, but it’s exciting and rewarding to see their progress.
  4. Some days kids will be crazy, but most days they’re really sweet. They’re also hilarious.
  5. It’s crucial to be verbally recognized for your strengths and accomplishments. Feeling under-appreciated will only make you bitter and frustrated.
  6. Your coworkers can become some of your closest friends.
  7. There isn’t a direct career path. Some meandering is healthy and valuable.
  8. Planning for the future will likely make you more content in the present.

This year has been a transitional one, and it’s definitely had its high and low points, but through them I’ve learned a lot about myself and what I want. ‘Adulting’ will continue to be a process, but that’s okay. Every young adult that I know feels the same way about adulthood, but I think we’re all still having some fun despite it all. It’s a wild ride, but I’m pretty happy with all the changes that I’ve made this year.

Thanks for reading my bits of prose and whimsy! x

Look for my next post, which will be about my top books of the year! 🙂

Leave a Reply

