Reading slumps, Chick-lit, and Self-conscious reading

I’ve been in a pretty major reading slump lately. It’s been taking me forever to finish the books I start, and “chick-lit” is one of the few genres (besides graphic novels) that I fly through in only a few days. (I’m not sure whether to “own” the term chick-lit or find it insulting. Eh. Perhaps a discussion for a later date.)

Austenland-BookLet’s take Shannon Hale’s Austenland, for example. It’s not the most well-written book, and it doesn’t deal with complex concepts (or whatever), but I thought it was such a fun read! And isn’t that what it’s about? For me, reading is about finding a balance between a bunch of different genres. From young adult books to high fantasy to graphic novels. It’s important to me that I’ve read some of the great classics, but I also want to read what makes me happy! The books that I’ll stay up until 3am to finish. I rarely force myself through non-required reading if I’m not enjoying it whatsoever. So, maybe my “reading slump” is more of a not-letting-myself-read-what-I’m-in-the-mood-for slump. At the very least, it’s partly to blame.

Even when I’m not reading “quality literature,” (and, um, who even gets to decide how that’s defined?) those books are just as worthy of being enjoyed as any others.

Do you guys have thoughts on “chick lit” or other genres that aren’t typically considered “quality literature?” Do you judge yourself for reading those books? I’d love to hear your opinions.

2 thoughts on “Reading slumps, Chick-lit, and Self-conscious reading

  1. I find myself reading books that I’d qualify as “fluff” all the time…sometimes I feel a little self-conscious about it. Recently I’ve been feeling the need to branch out and start reading more “grown up” books, but you’re totally right about enjoying what you’re reading! Is reading a “grown up” book really beneficial if I slug my way through it with no enjoyment? I don’t think so.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yesss, I feel the same way! Supposedly profound “grown up” books can be a complete chore to get through. Others can be entirely worthwhile, but I think it’s all about our own preferences. If I slug through books that I hate, it just gets me less excited about reading in general!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

