Reading Wrap-Up: Jan/Feb ’15

So, here’s a check-in for my reading during the first two months of the year. Despite feeling like I’m slacking, I’ve actually been keeping right on track with my goal of 50 books. Yay! Here are the books that I’ve completed thus far!

1. It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned VizziniFunny_Story_front

YA Contemporary. You guys may already know that I love this book, and it was a great one to kick off the new year with. I’ve posted a book review for it, so I have some collected thoughts there. It was memorable and poignant, and I will definitely pick it up again at some point. Loved it. ☆☆☆☆☆

2. Crown of Embers (Fire and Thorns, #2) by Rae Carsonimgres

I’m just…not the biggest fan of this YA fantasy trilogy. I don’t hate it, but there are quite a few things about it that really bother me. The heroine is difficult to empathize with, I find the storyline of how she got to her position of power a bit silly and too convenient, the constant talk of religion and praying gets on my nerves pretty quickly, etc. Some people will love this series–there are definitely things to enjoy–but it’s just not my cup of tea. I read the first one (The Girl of Fire and Thorns) toward the end of 2014 and enjoyed it much more than this one. (I gave that one 4 stars.) I’ll eventually read the third one to see how everything wraps up. ☆☆☆

3. Sweet Thing (Sweet Thing, #1) by Renée Carlinoimgres-1

This was a fun read. New Adult contemporary romance about a girl who is coping with loss and unsure in which direction her life should go. Great development of chemistry between the main characters, interesting side characters, and good plot. Mia can become really frustrating, but I cut her some slack. A bit too sappy at times. Overall very enjoyable and I completely flew through it. I’ll be picking up the novella sometime this year. ☆☆☆☆

imgres-24. The Wicked + The Divine, Vol. 1 by Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie, and Matt Wilson

A bind-up graphic novel about gods in the form of pop stars. I really wanted to love this, but I feel pretty ‘meh’ about it. The art style is beautiful, and that’s one of the things that drew me to it. I honestly didn’t know what was going on during a lot of the story. I might reread it at some point and try the next volume to see if my opinion changes. ☆☆☆

5. Soulless (Parasol Pretectorate, #1) by Gail CarrigerPrint

This is the first book in a Paranormal/Fantasy steampunk romance series and it’s fast-paced and sassy and so, so fun. Alexia is a snarky, intelligent, and badass heroine who doesn’t take shit from anyone. The romance is great, the side characters are colorful and hilarious. So enjoyable. A friend lent this to me because it’s one of her favorite series, and I was happy to report back that I loved it. I’ll definitely be reading the next one very soon–I’m sure it’ll be just as addictive! ☆☆☆☆☆

6. Chopsticks by Jessica Anthony and Rodrigo CorralChopsticks

I’ve done a review for this one as well, so you can see my semi-collected thoughts over there. I already had enough difficulty forming coherent thoughts the first time around, so I’m simply going to say that it was a thought-provoking read that offers a very unique and unexpected narrative and premise. ☆☆☆☆

2274437. Bridget Jones’s Diary (Bridget Jones, #1) by Helen Fielding

Oh look, I just talked about this one. This wasn’t really what I was expecting. A fast read, somewhat enjoyable, but pretty ‘meh’. ☆☆ 1/2

8. The Name of the Star (Shades of London, #1) by Maureen Johnson

13595639YA Paranormal/Fantasy about a Jack the Ripper killing spree. I really wanted to like this more than I did. There were definitely parts that I enjoyed, but I was never truly invested in the story. I was neutral about most of the characters and what happened to them. Yet another example of why I should seriously just give up on ghost books. (I’m really stubborn though.) ☆☆ 1/2

I think I’ll be switching gears into more high fantasy books and graphic novels for a while. I’d love to hear your thoughts on any of these books or any recommendations for me! 🙂

One thought on “Reading Wrap-Up: Jan/Feb ’15

Leave a Reply

