Book Thoughts: Bridget Jones’s Diary

Title: Bridget Jones’s Diary227443
Author: Helen Fielding
Genre: Fiction, Chick-Lit, Contemporary, Romance, Humor
Year: 1996

Rating: ✩✩ 1/2

Huh. I have mixed feelings about this one. I decided to read this right around Valentine’s Day, since I wanted a silly rom-com read. I lost interest for a week or so, then picked it back up a few days ago.

I thought the character of Bridget Jones would be more endearing than she turns out to be. I kept comparing it to Pride and Prejudice, an inspiration for the story, and the end result didn’t totally work for me. I’d be all over a well-written, modern version of P&P, but this just wasn’t it. Bridget wasn’t the spunky Elizabeth Bennet-esque female character I was hoping for. (A side note: her obsession with her weight gets really irritating after a while.)

I’ve watched only a few scenes from the film adaptation, but I was somewhat familiar with the basic premise of the story. I honestly think I’d enjoy the film a lot more than the book. One of my major issues with it was the writing style. It’s written as if it were a diary (duh), but not in a fun way. She skips words like “a” and “the” and writes “v.” instead of very. It’s a bit off-putting. I don’t know about other people, but this isn’t the way I write when I’m on a journal-writing kick.

The ‘fun’ and ‘silly’ aspect that I was expecting came across instead as more whiny and infuriating. There wasn’t much character growth, in my opinion, which is what typically keeps me reading.

I wasn’t ever expecting to love this book, since it falls outside of what I typically read, but I thought it would be a fun change. It was quick, entertaining, and somewhat relatable. There were several moments when, in my mind, I was like, ‘I feel ya, girl. You do you.’ Overall, however, I ended up feeling pretty ho-hum about it. I might pick up the next one at some point, but I’m not itching to at the moment.

One thought on “Book Thoughts: Bridget Jones’s Diary

Leave a Reply

